This section will guide you through what's out there in terms of funding and how best to engage with the Research Office.

Top Tips

1. Visit the new internal site for funding opportunities.
2. Be aware of internal deadlines (see the new internal site for more).
3. Please get to know your Research Office contact (details below).

 

 

Research Professional

For a more comprehensive listing of a broader range of funding opportunities across all disciplines, visit our section on Research Professional. The Funding opportunities database has been designed so that it’s easy for occasional users but offers complex search options for regular users.

Research Office Contacts by College

The team of Research Support Officers have expert knowledge of our university's research agenda allows them to help you identify funding opportunities.  Their role is to support researchers in navigating the research funding landscape and offer proposal preparation to enhance the competitiveness of submissions.  There is a dedicated Research Support Officer for each college, based on funders, be they national or international. 

International Team

Louise Hannon

Louise Hannon

Head of International Programmes
Email: louise.hannon@nuigalway.ie

Dr Silvia Maretto

Dr Silvia Maretto

Research Support Officer (International Funding)
College of Science
School of Law
Wellcome Trust
Tel: 353 91 492046 (Direct) Ext. 2046
Rm No: 212B‌‌‌‌‌‌ Email: silvia.maretto@nuigalway.ie

Claire Bennett

Claire Bennett

Research Support Officer (International Funding)
School of Business & Economics
College of Engineering & Informatics
Tel: 353 91 494476 (Direct) Ext. 4476
Rm No: 212 Email: claire.bennett@nuigalway.ie

Dr Bronagh Ann McShane

Dr Bronagh Ann McShane

Research Support Officer (on leave)
College of Arts, Social Sciences and Celtic Studies
College of Medicine, Nursing & Health Sciences Email: Bronagh.McShane@nuigalway.ie

National Team

Tony Flaherty

Tony Flaherty

Head of National Research Programmes
Tel: 353 91 493124 (Direct) Ext. 3124
Email: tony.flaherty@nuigalway.ie
Email: tony.flaherty@nuigalway.ie

Dr Jared Gerlach

Dr Jared Gerlach

Research Support Officer (National Funding)
College of Science
College of Business, Public Policy, & Law
Tel: 353 91 494475 (Direct) Ext. 4475
Rm No: 212‌B
Email: jared.gerlach@nuigalway.ie

Dr Ruth Dooley

Dr Ruth Dooley

Research Support Officer (National Funding)
College of Medicine, Nursing & Health Sciences
Tel: 353 91 492034 (Direct) Ext. 2034
Rm No: 212
Email: ruth.dooley@nuigalway.ie

Kieran Fitzpatrick

Kieran Fitzpatrick

Research Support Officer (National Funding)
College of Engineering & Informatics
College of Arts, Social Sciences and Celtic Studies
Email: KIERAN.FITZPATRICK@nuigalway.ie